Top Points of Bharat Ratna Awards 2019 & Current Affairs 26 January

Bharat Ratna

Bharat Ratna AwardPresident of India Ramnath Kovind on 25th January 2019 conferred the Bharat Ratna on

  1. Pranab Mukherjee (former president)
  2. Social activist Nanaji Deshmukh (posthumous) &
  3. Bhupen Hazarika (Assamese musician) (posthumous).

Bharat Ratna Award
Pranab Mukherjee

Bharat Ratna Award
Nanaji Deshmukh

Bharat Ratna Award
Bhupen Hazarika

About Bharat Ratna

Bharat Ratna is the nation’s highest civilian honour.

Bharat Ratna award was instituted in 1954.

The recommendations for the Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President, with a maximum of three nominees being awarded per year.

Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian honour, given for exceptional service towards advancement of Art, Literature and Science, and in recognition of Public Service of the highest order.

It is also not mandatory that Bharat Ratna be awarded every year.

Bharat Ratna Award

Recipients of Bharat Ratna  receive a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a peepal-leaf–shaped medallion.

The recipients of Bharat Ratna rank seventh in the Indian order of precedence.

Politician C. Rajagopalachari, philosopher Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, and scientist C. V. Raman were the first recipients of the Bharat Ratna, honoured in 1954.

Former Prime Minister Lal Bahadur Shastri became the first individual to be honoured posthumously.

In 2014, cricketer Sachin Tendulkar became the youngest recipient of Bharat Ratna.

Bharat Ratna is usually conferred on India born citizens. But it has also been conferred to one naturalized citizen and to two non-Indians.

Bharat Ratna to Naturalized CitizenMother Teresa

Bharat Ratna to non-IndiansKhan Abdul Ghaffar Khan (Pakistan national) also known as Frontier Gandhi   & former South African President Nelson Mandela.

Bharat Ratna Naturalized citizen

 Bharat Ratna Award
Mother Teresa

Bharat Ratna to Non-Indians(Foreign National) 
Bharat Ratna Award
Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan (Pakistan National also known as Frontier Gandhi)  


Bharat Ratna Award
South African President Nelson Mandela.

Bharat Ratna award was briefly suspended two times in its history.

Some Quick Facts about Bharat Ratna Awards

First person awarded posthumouslyLal Bahadur Shastri

Youngest Receiver (after death at the age of 47) – Rajiv Gandhi

Youngest living Receiver (at the age of 40) – Sachin Tendulkar(Cricket)

Oldest receiverMadan Mohan Malviya (after death, at 153 years)

Oldest living receiver – Dr. Keshav Karve (at the age of 100 years)

Foreign NationalKhan Abdul Ghaffar Khan (Pakistan National) (1987) Also known as Frontier Gandhi– He was a great freedom fighter.

Foreign NationalNelson Mandela (1990) – Former South African President

Bharat Ratna Award


Questions & Facts about Bharat Ratna

Q. When was Bharat Ratna award has been started?

Ans: 2nd January 1954

Q.How many person can be awarded Bharat Ratna in a single year ?

Ans: 3 (It’s not necessary to award Bharat Ratna every year)

Q. Who awards Bharat Ratna to the recipient?

Ans: President

Q. Who returned Bharat Ratna award.

Ans: Family of Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose freedom fighter

Q. Who was given Bharat Ratna award in 1954.

  1. C Rajagopalachari – Second governor general & first Indian governor general.
  2. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan first Vice President of India
  3. Dr Chandrashekhar Venkat Raman – Indian physicist & got Nobel Prize in physics for his work, Raman effect.

Indira Gandhi was first women recipient of Bharat Ratna, Mother Teresa who was the second recipient of Bharat Ratna.

Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru was the first Prime Minister to get Bharat Ratna award.

Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri was the first recipient of Bharat Ratna posthumously.

First sports person to get Bharat Ratna is Cricketer batsman Sachin Tendulkar also he is the youngest to get the award.


Padma Awards

Padma Awards

India’s second highest civilian honour Padma Vibhushan 2019 conferred on:

  1. Construction giant Larsen & Toubro’s(L&T) Chairman AM Naik.
  2. Spices maker MDH owner Mahashay Dharam Pal Gulati (95 years old) &
  3. John Chambers, former CEO of US technology giant Cisco Systems were chosen for Padma Bhushan.

Photoshop maker Adobe’s India born CEO Shantanu Narayen was conferred Padma Shri.

Padma Awards are announced on the eve of the Republic Day.


For Previous Current Affairs of January Click



Leave a Comment